Deviled Cadbury Eggs

To many people, one of the joys of Easter time is the Cadbury egg. For one brief month out of twelve, they can find this yummy holiday treat. But I found myself wondering what else could be done with them. I ended up taking Cadbury eggs and putting a picnic favorite twist on them. This is what I came up with.

Deviled Cadburry Eggs

Ingredients:
10 Cadbury Eggs
Buttercream Icing
Orange Sprinkles

If you don’t have my buttercream icing recipe, I make it by mixing1 stick softened butter with 1 cup confectioner’s sugar until smooth. Then I add another cup of confectioner’s sugar, beating it until fluffy. Stir in two tablespoons milk, one teaspoon vanilla and a sprinkle of salt. That’s pretty much all there is to it.

Anyway…I didn’t have any yellow food coloring with me when I made these at work. So I ended up using 1-2 drops of green and some extra vanilla to try and get a yellow tint. It came out pretty good considering.

While I made the icing, I stuck the Cadbury eggs in the refrigerator to help thicken up the “yolks.” After they were in the fridge for about an hour (no it does not take this long to make the icing) I unwrapped them all and sliced them in half lengthwise. There’s already a crack there, so it’s not too difficult. I ended up cracking a couple halves, but it’s no big loss.

See, not too complicated. Here are all my little split Cadburries.

Next, I took the icing and put it into a cake decorating bag with a 1M star tip. I simply piped the frosting on in a circular motion, similar to the way you would do it with a cupcake.

After I got done icing them I sprinkled some orange sprinkles over the top. I thought this would give the impression of paprika.

Pretty awesome, right?

Have fun making these!! They are an awesome treat to take to an Easter get together or snack day.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kymberli
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 17:58:18

    My teeth hurt just looking at that! haha!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

People Impressed

  • 985 wows
