Butterflies, Butterflies

I am pleased to announce that I FINALLY got one of the butterfly pillowcases done! It seemed like it took me forever, lol. I just wish I had more hours in my day…or that sleep wasn’t a necessity…sigh.
I had so much fun doing this! Despite the fact that I received criticisms for being too young to embroider. Psshhh I say! I quickly learned that it’s rough on your fingers until you build up calluses orrrr get a leather thimble.

Here is a close up of the butterfly, sorry if it’s blurry.

Here are a couple tips that I picked up along the way:
1. When it comes to pillowcases, make sure you have the back of the case pushed away from the section you’re embroidering. You don’t want to accidently embroider the back to the front. :-p
2. Using two strands of embroidery thread makes the piece look more delicate than three.
3. The overall appearance of the piece is benefited if you keep your stitches going the same way. By this I mean if you make one X with \ on the bottom and / on the top, make them all that way. Don’t flip flop which level the stitches go. I hope that makes sense! The key is consistancy!
4. Always have back up skeins of thread. It sucks to be almost done with something and then realize you are out and can’t finish!

I hope you give embroidering a try! I’m going to continue working on the second pillowcase in my spare time but I doubt I will feature it as a blog simply because I have nothing more to say about this particular set. Have fun!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kymberli
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 10:21:29

    Too young? LOL I was embroidering in my teens. I did tons of that and all kinds of crafts that I was “too young” to do, or peers would say, “My grandma ______ (whichever craft it was I was into at the time)”. Yeah, well, guess who was accomplishing something while others were wasting their time complaining about how bored they were? This girl! That’s who! 😉

    Reply

    • samantharose85
      Apr 22, 2011 @ 04:24:06

      Haha. I hear ya Kym! Apparently you were “too young” as well. I guess it’s just odd for people to see anybody under the age of 40-50 doing these types of crafts.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

People Impressed

  • 985 wows
